• 888-750-4777
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: How do you do your summary with the client?

Re: How do you do your summary with the client? 8 years 3 months ago #54932

Steven...as a side noted, I personally use a "Lenovo convertible" laptop tablet.  From reading this forum, guys like Bob Elliot like Android tablets.  

I don't carry my tablet everywhere.  I leave most of my equipment set up in the kitchen, and will go back there to plug in data.

I do take my computer to baths, furnace, and basement for data entry.
Grounds, exterior, roof, Interior & attic info I enter in the kitchen
For plumbing & electric I usually take my computer to the basement for entry.

If I have time I'll download pic's while filling a master spa tub

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Dan Musielski
Inspector/Engineer
Assured Home Inspections; Batavia, IL
www.InspectThatHouse.com

See us in the Fox News Channel! FOX NEWS Shattered Dreams
www.foxnews.com/us/2010/10/13/foreclosur...ickens-experts-fear/

Re: How do you do your summary with the client? 8 years 3 months ago #54933

Hi David...I'll try to repair the Broken "Sample report" Link in the next day or so.  My site needs updating, and I've been lazy:)

At one time I had also posted a "report" comparison between 3D & HIP with all the same data.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Dan Musielski
Inspector/Engineer
Assured Home Inspections; Batavia, IL
www.InspectThatHouse.com

See us in the Fox News Channel! FOX NEWS Shattered Dreams
www.foxnews.com/us/2010/10/13/foreclosur...ickens-experts-fear/

Re: How do you do your summary with the client? 8 years 3 months ago #54934

Dan,
As I had asked 1 year ago, for one or more persons to detail their formula that would work to cut my time down to around four hours, and it work never comes about. The only thing I can say is that it depends on how you inspect and how you write your reports. I have come to the fact that I will never do more than one inspection in a day, and that some reports run into the next day to finish.  It would be great if I could give him the template to cure the few like me, to write faster reports to make a better living rather than cut quality, but for some thats all they can do.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Steven Wessler

Re: How do you do your summary with the client? 8 years 3 months ago #54935

Steven...when you say 4 hrs...is that including the inspection time? There is no set formula.  Figure out the #1 component taking up your time and start there. See what other guys are doing...go to Vegas; see what other guys are doing.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Dan Musielski
Inspector/Engineer
Assured Home Inspections; Batavia, IL
www.InspectThatHouse.com

See us in the Fox News Channel! FOX NEWS Shattered Dreams
www.foxnews.com/us/2010/10/13/foreclosur...ickens-experts-fear/

Re: How do you do your summary with the client? 8 years 3 months ago #54936

Steve the best way to find out if it is the software is to trial another and then come back here to tell us
how that effected your time.
If HIP is the issue you will know right away.
If it is your style then you will still spend just as much or more .

The fact of the matter is the more you report on the longer it will take.

Simple would be for instance to have a category called roof and put all roof comments inside that category.

More complicated is having Roof and then adding subcategories for type,material,flashing,penetrations,eaves,fascia,kickouts,chimney,gutters,downspouts,parapet walls,coping,skylights,etc.

Now is it possible when new you did not have as many separate components you were compelled to report on ?

Have you ever while doing a report checked off time you spend at each section ?
Are you researching,going on forums,etc ?

When using photos for notes (my style) are you slotting then looking at a generated PDF side by side or are you using the red'black gizmo ?
Perhaps you are looking at computer picture files ?

Is it the material comments slowing you up for sure ?
Instead of talking about it I challenge you to open up an old picture file and do the report fresh
with just issues and then come back to tell us how much less time it took.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re: How do you do your summary with the client? 8 years 3 months ago #54937

Now that the above has been said I spend between 10-15 seconds average per picture
with slotting and captions/annotations.
I take anywhere from 120 to 350 average.

My average text time is 90 minutes and my reports are an average of 70 pages.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.305 seconds
© 2004-2022 Home Inspector Pro Inc. All Rights Reserved.