• 888-750-4777
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: "You Not Licensed Electricity"

"You Not Licensed Electricity" 13 years 10 months ago #31853

I get a lot of interesting phone calls, some with valid questions that need explanations.  This particular call was interesting to say the least, but with a different intent.  This call was from the listing agent of a property I inspected a few days ago.  The purpose of her call was to try to get out of making a repair asked for by my clients.  I could hardly understand her, but it went like this:

"Jay, I Mumbledeefum, and I listing agent at (address). You licensed electricity?"  I think I understood the last part.

I am a licensed home inspector.  I am not a licensed electrician.  Why do you ask?

"You say too low voltage in basement of listing.  Report say less than 100 volts on basement circuit (she is reading slowly).  How you know that?"

I have a device to check that.  It is a little computer.
  (I check the electricity in outlets with a device that simulates an 80% load on a circuit.  I can set it to check 15 or 20amp circuits.  It puts a load on the line to see how the outlet, and circuit, responds.  It checks for 6 different things, including voltage.  It only goes down to a setting that says "< 100" which is too low.  For all I know this circuit was producing 46 volts!) The circuit should produce 120 volts or near to that.  Your basement did not.  For all I know it is only producing 50 volts.

"I never hear of computer.  I call inspector who never hear of computer.  He say all inspector need check is polarity.  He say you need be licensed electricity to check for more.  He check only polarity.  You should not do more."