• 888-750-4777
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Work Flow

Work Flow 10 years 1 week ago #57466

Hello all - FIRST POST!

I have a number of years of experience in inspection, but not in home inspection.  My credentials are mostly in the areas of trade inspection such as structural steel, welding, high strength bolting, anchoring systems, etc.  I'm an AWS Certified Welding Inspector and hold a variety of special inspector certifications with the International Code Council and various jurisdictions.......but home inspection is a new one for me. 

I actually performed my first official inspection yesterday and I had a great time, it's like a treasure hunt, looking for areas of opportunity to assist those involved with a quality transaction and a sound investment.  I really enjoy putting my inspection skills to work for others.

The reason I'm posting today is because the one thing I found was that there are a number of ways to approach these inspections and I'm struggling a little to narrow in on a good initial work flow and something to build a template around in HIP.  I'm sure that this does come with experience, but especially as a new home inspector I want to develop a sound method and work flow that helps me to establish some habits to minimize the risk of missing or forgetting to look at something.